What Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?

Decide how much liability coverage is enough for similar type of drivers.

Cheap Auto Insurance in Louisiana

Auto insurance Louisiana is compulsory. There are plenty of companies in the city from which you can get the best car insurance quotes. However, you need to know about the car insurance requirements as per the Louisiana vehicle law so that you can take the minimum insurance coverage with the cheapest premium rate which will be easily playable for you.

Average Rates

When it comes to the most expensive states for the car insurance rates, the name of Louisiana will be at the top of the list. The car insurance coverage amount can vary from $1796 to $3110 considering different car insurance company quotes. So, when you are choosing the car insurance quotes in this city, it will be extremely crucial to go through the quotations of the different Louisiana car insurance companies. It will help you to compare the rates thoroughly. Thus you can get the cheapest car insurance rates in the city.

Louisiana Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Enter ZIP for average rate. Then enter Age, Gender and Coverage Level for customized rate.
Wrong zip code

The requirement of car insurance in Louisiana

There are four main coverage types are applicable in Louisiana which the drivers are bound to take.

  • Liability coverage for Bodily Injury.
  • Liability Coverage for Property Damage.
  • Medical payments.
  • Bodily injury for the uninsured motorist.

There is some of the additional car insurance coverage available in the city. Those are not mandatory to take but if you feel it safe to take you can go for the same. You can go for the uninsured motorist policy coverage. By this, you will be able to fulfill the damage done by a motorist who does not have the insurance coverage. You can also get the full coverage which is related to collision and comprehensive coverage.

  • For liability coverage bodily injury the minimum coverage amount will be $15000 for each person and $30000 for each accident.
  • For Liability coverage for Property Damage, the minimum insurance coverage amount needs to be $25000.
  • For the necessary medical payments, the minimum required insurance coverage will be $1000. In some of the circumstances, this kind of coverage has a possibility of rejection.
  • For the bodily injury of the uninsured motorist, the minimum legal insurance coverage will be $15000 for each person and for each accident it is $30000.

Laws in Louisiana for insurance

As a driver, you need to be extremely serious regarding the car insurance Louisiana coverage lapse in this city. The license will be flagged by immediate effect due to the same. You will also face problem regarding the renewal of your registration. Because of the paucity of coverage, you can also be fined because of the state law. Before thirty days the fine will be $50. After thirty days it will become $150, and it will be $300 when it crosses three months.

As per the law of the city, the teenagers at the age of 15 years can go for the learner’s permit. After getting the permit, they will go through the education course for the drivers who are approved by State. It will be a course of 30 hours, and along with that, they will drive for six hours in total. After completion of the course and the driving test when they will turn to age 17 they can go for unrestricted car insurance coverage in the city.

Louisiana auto insurance can surely help a driver to drive the cars with safety and security. Now, if you have a sound idea about the minimum requirements for the car insurance in the city, you will be able to take the best insurance quotes available with the various car insurance companies in Louisiana.

Speed Limits in Louisiana


Rural Interstates


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
75 75

Urban Interstates


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
70 70

Other Limited Access Roads


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
70 70

Enter your zip code to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code
Get Free Quotes