What Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?

Decide how much liability coverage is enough for similar type of drivers.

West Virginia Car Insurance

Do you live in West Virginia? You should be aware of insurance policies prevailing through the state. Driving looks easier in the state but avoiding insurance services would never. You hardly get a chance of hiding insurance details from officials of West Virginia. But what makes it so hard for drivers? Owning a West Virginia car insurance policy becomes easier, but in case of any violation, you are bound to pay the penalty.

West Virginia Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Enter ZIP for average rate. Then enter Age, Gender and Coverage Level for customized rate.
Wrong zip code

Average Rates

Upon what basis does each policy premiums apply? Before you indulge through insurance policies, you require proper knowledge of the premium rates applied on coverage.

  • The first coverage type includes body injured liability covering all injuries caused to driver and pedestrians. In fact, the amount paid $20,000 per person.
  • The second one includes property damage with a premium rate of $10,000 as a limitation.
  • Uninsured motorist insurance possesses a premium of $20,000 upon each person.

Other than these more coverage type exists but without any premium rate.

Car insurance requirements in West Virginia

When you choose to buy West Virginia auto insurance policy, then you require getting few requirements fulfilled. Now, what type of requirements do you need to pursue?

  • Insurance requires you to have liability coverage in order, to help fulfill the cost put forward for the property as well as other damages. Hence, this policy provides $25,000 to all people.
  • Other than this, Uninsured motorist cost coverage also to be a part of requirement as stated. It, in fact, ensures a limit of 100,000 to $50,000 as per damage caused.
Insurance Coverage West Virginia Minimum Coverage Study Coverage
Bodily Injury (BI) (per person / per accident) $25,000 / $50,000 $50,000 / $100,000
Property Damage (PD) 25,000 25,000
Uninsured Motorist BI (per person / per accident) $25,000 / $50,000 50,000 / 100,000
Uninsured Motorist PD 25,000 25,000
Collision / Comprehensive deductible Optional $500

Now, apart from all the above-mentioned details, it gets important for you to find out about minimum coverage in the state. Thus, at least four types of coverage schemes need to be met in the state of West Virginia. This includes body injury covering a cost of $25,000 to a person, damage caused to properties covering an amount of $25,000 on accident, and lastly an Uninsured motorist body as well as property damage cost with $25,000 cost. When a drier meets all coverage requirements then only they avail insurance.

Laws in West Virginia

Certain laws require following through the state while driving:

  • The ban on using mobile phones for texting when you drive for every driver.
  • Ban of a cell phone for all novice drivers.
  • As per act passed in 2013 police possess to fine drivers who went out without seatbelts.

These laws turned out to be effective in a strict manner from the state of West Virginia.

Speed Limits in West Virginia


Rural Interstates


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
70 70

Urban Interstates


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
60 or 65 60 or 65

Other Limited Access Roads


Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
65 65
*NOTE: West Virginia speed limits, in general, are not set by law, but by the Commissioner of the Division of Highways

Enter your zip code to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code
Get Free Quotes