What Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?

Decide how much liability coverage is enough for similar type of drivers.

What is the FS-1 document?

There are a lot of forms and paperwork that people sometimes have to get in terms of insurance policies, and for car insurance, one of these forms may be the FS-1 document. This document is a requirement for certain drivers in the state of North Carolina and functions similarly to an SR-22 document. If you are required to carry an FS-1 document, you will want to know all of the pertinent information surrounding it. People who are required to carry the document and are caught driving without it can be subject to massive fines and penalties. These penalties can potentially affect their ability to drive for many years to come.

 

What Is The FS-1 Document?

 

An FS-1 document is used by drivers to demonstrate their proof of financial responsibility when required. An SR-22 certificate is required in certain states for people who are convicted of driving under the influence. An FS-1 document is a document that proves people have automobile insurance. This means that they are able to be financially responsible and have car insurance when driving a vehicle. North Carolina is the only state that utilizes this document.

 

How Does The FS-1 Work?

 

The FS-1 document works as if it is a certificate of insurance. You can get this document from your automobile insurance company as proof that you have legal car insurance in the state of North Carolina. Showing proof of insurance is required to register a vehicle in North Carolina, and it is also needed for people who are looking to title their vehicle. As a proof of insurance document, there are two valid, acceptable ways to prove your insurance in North Carolina. The first of these is the name of your insurance company and your policy number, which is considered self-certification. The second is a certificate of proof of insurance from your insurance company or FS-1 document. This second option must be from an insurance company that is licensed to provide policies in the state of North Carolina.

 

North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements

 

Each driver in North Carolina is required to have a valid automobile insurance policy in order to drive legally in the state. These policies have minimum requirements that must be met. The minimum coverage limits for insurance in North Carolina are $30,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person, $60,000 of injury liability insurance for multiple people per accident and $25,000 of property damage liability coverage. Also, North Carolina requires that people have uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage in the amount of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist property damage coverage is also a requirement, in the amount of $25,000 minimum. By obtaining an FS-1 document, you are able to prove that you meet the minimum liability insurance requirements listed here.

 

How To Get The FS-1 Form

 

Getting an FS-1 document is not done at your local DMV, but rather it is issued by your automobile insurance company. To prove that you have insurance, you will need to contact your auto insurance provider to get this form. The FS-1 document, or form, demonstrates that you have valid and legal automobile insurance that meets the requirements put forth by the state of North Carolina.

It is essential to keep in mind that automobile insurance providers in the state are required to notify the DMV if a policyholder cancels their insurance coverage. This means that law enforcement has an updated record of when people are driving without insurance. People who continue to operate after they cancel their insurance policy can face harsh penalties. These penalties can include fines, fees, and more.

 

Why Do I Need The FS-1 Form?

 

When your insurance company tells the DMV that they are no longer providing car insurance coverage to you, the DMV will check to see if you have received automobile insurance from another company. If you have not, the DMV will mail you a letter to ask that you prove that you have automobile insurance coverage that meets the minimum requirements in the state of North Carolina. In some cases, you will be asked to show that you had automobile insurance on specific dates.

If they notice that you have let your auto insurance lapse or expire, and your vehicle is still registered, you may be penalized. There is a fine of $50 for lapses of coverage, billed when your car is registered. This is a fine for a first offense, with second and third offenses being higher. Other penalties, such as the suspension of a driver’s license can also happen after multiple offenses. This makes having the form, or other proof of insurance, essential for driving in the state of North Carolina.

Article rating:

5.0/5.0 (8 user votes)

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter your zip code to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code
GET a quote online