What Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?

Decide how much liability coverage is enough for similar type of drivers.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Texas

Driving is a risk, and many people get into automobile accidents each year. People can focus on being safe drivers and driving reliable vehicles, but life can be unpredictable, and sometimes, things are beyond our control. Due to the number of car accidents that occur and the amounts of money that damages from these accidents can cost, states require that drivers carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Texas is no different, with the state having severe penalties for people who are caught driving without the legal minimum limits for car insurance.

Car insurance provides a safety net for people’s finances, so even if these penalties were not there, it would be a smart plan to have a sufficient car insurance policy. The added incentive that the penalties for not having insurance in Texas provide help to protect drivers in the state adequately. Still, up to 25% of the drivers in Texas do not have car insurance, or underinsured. With so many people failing to meet the minimum requirement for liability insurance coverage in Texas, it is even more important to be aware of the types of insurance policies that are available to you to help keep you financially protected in case a car crash or vehicle accident occurs.

Texas Insurance Requirements

The minimum limits for car insurance in Texas include a requirement for both personal injury insurance coverage and property damage insurance coverage. Both of these are liability insurance coverages, and the minimum limits for personal injury insurance per person are $30,000. A minimum limit of $60,000 of personal injury insurance is also required per accident. Additionally, property damage liability insurance is also required with a minimum limit of $25,000. Each state requires different minimum limits and different types of insurance, so if you are moving to Texas, you may need to update your insurance policy to reflect insurance in the state.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

Like most states, Texas has severe penalties for driving without insurance. The penalties for first-time offenders in Texas are less than subsequent offenses but are still hefty. Being aware of what the penalties are in the state for driving without insurance is important. Take the time to read them over so that you are familiar with them, then use the tools on this site to compare rates on car insurance so you are not operating a motor vehicle without insurance.

First Time Offense

The costs for driving without insurance in Texas can add up pretty quickly. People who are pulled over and do not have car insurance can get a minimum fine of $175 and that fine can go as high as $350. This is the fee for the ticket that you will receive when you are pulled over. There are other penalties that you can also expect with the first offense. When you head to the DMV to renew your driver’s license after receiving your ticket, you will be charged an additional penalty for driving an uninsured vehicle. These fees continue for three years, at a rate of $250 per year. This means that you have a minimum ticket of $175, and you also have an additional $750 of fees spread over the next three years, and this is just for the first offense.

In addition, you may find that your car insurance rates go up after all of this happens. This increase in rates can put more financial strain on your pocketbook, and make driving without insurance even more expensive in the long run. For people who have repeat offenses for driving without insurance in the state of Texas, the penalties become even more significant.

Additional Offenses

Texas continues issuing hefty fines and penalties for people who violate car insurance laws in the state. For drivers who violate the states car insurance laws more than once, they will find themselves in legal trouble, as well as paying even larger amounts of money towards fines and fees. A second offense for driving without insurance in Texas will result in a fine between $500 and $1000, and you will still be required to pay the $250 licensing fees each year for the following three years as well. This means that driving without insurance and being caught a second time can cost up to $1,500 or more in fees. This does not include the increase in your car insurance rates that you might see from being caught driving without insurance in the state.

Another major penalty that people with multiple offenses may run into is that the police officer on the scene may decide to impound your vehicle immediately. This will result in additional impound fees. Even if your car is not immediately impounded, it can be seized by the court after the fact. If your license is revoked, you will also want to consider the additional expenses and inconveniences that come from needing to find alternate transportation to work, school, or other places. Legal costs can also add up, making driving without insurance in Texas very expensive.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident

If you get into an accident, not only will the already stated penalties and fees be a likelihood, but you could also end up paying a lot of money out-of-pocket for property damage repairs and medical expenses of people who were involved in the accident. These personal injury costs and property damage expenses can be extremely expensive, and you will also want to keep in mind that a lack of insurance coverage can also reduce your chances of winning a personal injury award even if the other driver is at fault.

Driving without insurance, even for a single lapse, can quickly end up costing more than an entire year’s worth of auto insurance premiums. Even if your car insurance coverage seems expensive, the penalties and potential expenses from an accident are far more costly. Taking the time to compare car insurance rates and get free car insurance quotes on this website. It is well worth the time it takes; the process only takes a few minutes. There is no reason to pay more for car insurance then you need to, and you do need to have an auto insurance plan to drive legally in Texas.

Article rating:

5.0/5.0 (8 user votes)

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter your zip code to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code
Get Free Quotes