What Car Insurance Coverage Do I Need?

Decide how much liability coverage is enough for similar type of drivers.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio

States have gone through large measures to make sure that people have an auto insurance policy when they are driving. It is illegal to drive in Ohio without insurance, and there are substantial penalties for people who break this law. Ohio started requiring drivers to carry a car insurance policy later than most states did. It was 1995 when Ohio began to require drivers to carry insurance. This article will cover the many fees and penalties for driving without insurance in the state of Ohio. Keep in mind that the penalties increase for people who are repeat offenders, depending on the violation.

Overall, people can save a lot of money by having a car insurance policy if they are involved in an accident. It can also be much cheaper to purchase a policy when you compare car insurance rates between multiple companies. The tools for this are available on this site. Not having an auto insurance policy puts drivers at risk of paying large sums of money in fees, and if an accident occurs a driver may be required to pay even more money to cover property damages or injury expenses for people involved with the accident out-of-pocket.

Ohio Insurance Requirements

The requirements that the state of Ohio has put forth for car insurance coverage include $25,000 in personal liability coverage for the injury or death of one person, $50,000 in personal liability coverage for injury or death of two people or more, and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage. While many people do just get the minimum amount of insurance coverage, others realize that this amount might not cover the expenses associated with more severe accidents. Because of this, some people choose to increase the amount of coverage they are getting for these insurance types, and some also choose to get other types of insurance coverage.

Other types of insurance coverage that drivers can purchase include collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, lease GAP insurance coverage, personal injury protection insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, and more. There are no penalties for not having insurance types that are not required by law. It is just the personal injury liability and property damage liability coverage that is required in the state of Ohio.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

There are both financial penalties, as well as other penalties, for people who are caught driving without insurance in the state of Ohio. In addition to this, there are expenses that drivers may be obligated to pay in relation to property damage and personal injuries that other people involved in an accident incur.

First Time Offense

The first time a person is caught driving without insurance can come with some pretty stiff penalties. These penalties can include the loss of your license plates, suspension or revocation of your registration, suspension of your driving privileges, and there are also financial penalties the drivers can incur as first-time offenders. The BMV charges a $150 reinstatement fee for the first offense. This is in addition to the possibility of getting tickets, so the actual cost can be more than this.

In addition, drivers who are caught operating a motor vehicle without insurance will have to file proof of insurance coverage for the 3 to 5 years following the incident. All of the listed suspension conditions, in order to get your driver’s license back, including paying the reinstatement fees, are required. The fees and penalties get even more severe for the second and third offenses, so repeat offenders can find themselves paying a lot of money and risking other penalties as well.

Additional Offenses

The reinstatement fees increase for each subsequent offense that occurs for driving without an insurance policy. The cost for this can be up to $650 for the third offense, making driving without insurance and an expensive proposition. It is also possible for the courts to limit a drivers privileges in the second and third violations, respectively. A person’s individual circumstances and driving record player role in whether or not a person who has violated the law in terms of carrying insurance will have their driving privileges limited. Remember that the limits put in place can have a large impact on a persons ability to get around.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident

Outside of the above penalties, there are additional penalties for people who are uninsured and get into car crashes. In all cases of an accident where damages exceed $400, a DMV Crash Report must be submitted, regardless of who is found to be at fault in an accident. This form is reviewed by the DMV, who may impose a two-year security suspension against uninsured drivers or uninsured car owners. The suspension will remain until all damages are paid or until judgment shows the driver was not at fault in the accident. It is also possible for the DMV to impose a suspension for an indefinite amount of time, until the judgment is settled.

Driving without insurance can open people up too much larger expenses if they are involved in an accident and are found at fault, however. The damage that a car can create to other vehicles, other people’s properties, and other people themselves, can be quite costly. Getting the best prices for car insurance by comparing car insurance rates on this site is the best way to save money on auto insurance. Driving without an automobile insurance policy can be much more expensive than purchasing a policy itself.

Appealing Your Fine

If you are caught driving without a car insurance plan, you can appeal your fine in court. You should also be aware that the DMV in Ohio can request proof of coverage at any time using its Random Verification program. If you do not respond within 21 days, the DMV will suspend your license, and possibly impound your plates and cancel your registration. The first offense will not end up with the loss of driving privileges if you pay the reinstatement fee and submit an SR-22 insurance certificate, however. Again, drivers who disagree with the actions that the DMV takes can request an administrative hearing.

Article rating:

5.0/5.0 (8 user votes)

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter your zip code to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code
GET a quote online